Radio non-silence

DJ’s out of town for a meeting and while I enjoy my home-alone Grey’s Anatomy marathons, I miss it when he’s here. As cheesy as it sounds, he really is my best friend. We’ve been together for over eight years and I still smile when he walks into the room (which is terribly frustrating when I want to be angry with him.)

We officially met in September of 2005. Unofficially, DJ is the reason I passed general chemistry spring semester of freshman year. We had a mutual friend Lauren, who was dating one of DJ’s suite mates. DJ would help DJ with her chemistry homework, which I would then copy. Lauren talked about him every time we were working on homework, and she always referred to him by his first and last name (we have a very distinctive last name). I had a, let’s say, unfavorable mental image of him, that couldn’t be farther from the truth. And that she called him by first and last name is something because in the over eight years since, I don’t know I’ve heard her call him anything but Deej. But for fifteen weeks, we never met. I only knew he existed through Lauren.

So, our official meeting: it was move-in day of sophomore year of college. Lauren came to my room to get me to go to dinner. We were walking on another floor and I hear her yell “DEEJ!” DJ was walking out of his room and joined our, very large, group on our way to dinner. (Disclaimer: this next part is going to sound like crap. If it hadn’t happened to me, that’s what I would be thinking). The first time we spoke, there was a spark. It was like something clicked inside of me, like meeting someone I had known forever. We ate ham that night, one of his favorite foods, and I remember DJ apologizing for the quality of the dining hall ham.

Over the next two weeks, we spent almost every waking minute together. Even though we felt it immediately, we waited two weeks to say I love you. It was just days later we decided we would get married. Of course we didn’t officially get engaged until a year and a half later (a cold, windy day on the beach in March – a story for another day).

Like I said, if it hadn’t happened to me, I wouldn’t believe it. I would probably be gagging a little bit. Getting married young was tough, please don’t get me wrong. But I wouldn’t change a minute of it. We have both been lucky to have the examples of our parents and their long, loving marriages to look to. And, for better or worse, we are each other’s best friend. Each step we have taken has made us who we are. And I wouldn’t change any of it for anything.

 

 

Leave a Reply

