My Inner Nerd

As a physicist, this may not come as much of a surprise, but I am a bit of a nerd.  I tend to take normal things that people enjoy and “nerdify” them.  I think the best example of this came last year when Julie was on her company’s softball team.  I wasn’t on the team, so I volunteered to be the team statistician.  This may seem weird, especially for a slow-pitch softball team, but I rather enjoyed it.  Over the course of that season, I calculated the box score for each game and accumulated everybody’s stats.  I broke down the outcome of everybody’s plate appearances and even created pie charts like the one below.

Sample stats for one player

Sample stats for one player

So at this point, I already realized that I was taking this way too seriously.  But I was having a good time with it, so I decided to take it one step further.  I created computer computer code that simulated different batting orders, and output the expected amount of runs that each lineup would score.

Expected runs from two different batting orders

Expected runs from two different batting orders

This obviously never produced useful information (mostly because it is slow-pitch softball and people were only there to have fun), but this was my contribution to the team.  I love math and I love sports.  I love combining the two, and I am looking forward to the day when I can teach my kids the real world applications of the math they learn in school.

Leave a Reply

