July is here

It’s Julie. DJ’s in the final throes of PhD preparation, so you’ll be stuck with me for a while.

It’s hard to believe July is here already. Normally we’d be getting ready to go visit my parents for the 4th of July weekend. I grew up not far from the Antietam Battlefield and every year, the Maryland Symphony Orchestra performs a free concert with fireworks at the battlefield. It’s a tradition in my family and I can count on one hand the number of times I’ve missed it (Once I was in Germany, once it was just waayyy too hot, and maybe the year I was born?). My dad and usually someone go down to the battlefield around 7 on Saturday morning and claim our spot.  We get the same spot every year, but there are also upwards of 20,000-25,000 people there, so getting a spot early is a necessity. We pack (almost always too much) food, games, and books, and head out in the late afternoon. We eat, visit, and relax until the concert and fireworks.

DJ's first time at the Battlefield - 2006?

DJ’s first time at the battlefield – 2006?

I was super grumpy that day - admittedly, the hot temperatures and I don't mix so well. Take notice of the matching family shirts though.

This is part of my mom’s family – my grandparents, my aunt and uncle, and my cousins. I was super grumpy that day – admittedly, hot temperatures and I don’t mix so well. Take notice of the matching family shirts though. (I think this is 1999 or 2000)

2010 with our friend Lauren!

2010 with our friend Lauren (who will henceforth be known as Aunt Lauren)

Even the rain doesn't stop us.

Even the rain doesn’t stop us – or the Power Rangers. (2009)

It’s the one time a year that lots of friends from home are all in one place and it make visiting easy. Unfortunately, this year’s going to be an absentee. Since DJ is wrapping up his work, we had to choose between going to the battlefield and my cousin’s wedding in North Carolina next weekend – no brainer.  I’m going to miss the battlefield certainly and it’s a tradition that I can’t wait to share with our kids.  But I’m even more excited for the wedding. All of my mom’s family will be there and we’ve been looking forward to it for months. We’re a large, loud bunch, and I can’t wait for our kids to be a part of it all.

 

 

Leave a Reply

