Happy Valentine’s Day

Brrr! Yesterday was a cold Valentine’s. Running a 10k in su freezing temperatures probably didn’t help, but hey, what’re you gonna do?

We registered for this race in November – a 10k, a medal (I’ll do anything for a medal), and post race wine and chocolate. What’s not to love? The weather. Of course this is the coldest weekend of the season so far.

We got to the race in New Kent around 8:15 for a 9:15 start. We waited in the car, then decided to head for my pre-race warmup in the port-a-potty line. While standing in the ages-long line in a 15* wind chill, I said to DJ “I wouldn’t mind if we left and didn’t do the race”. We both nodded and took off for the car. Halfway there, while trying to justify our decision to bail to ourselves (“we’re grownups, we can do what we want”), we wondered if maybe we could do just the 5k. After all, we had driven all that way. So we turned around and sprinted back to the start line. Once we were there, we were warmed up and DJ said “welllll…I think I might do the 10k”. Dammit. That meant I should too. (Like we mentioned earlier – competitive. I couldn’t let him beat me distance wise.) So we sucked it up and ran the 10k. And it wasn’t that bad.

IMG_3978

IMG_3980

Part of our motivation was the post-race meal. We have a tradition of a big, unhealthy breakfast after races and yesterday it was a pancake breakfast (RVApancakelove), benefitting the food bank.

IMG_3981

The rest of the day was nice and low key – the way we wanted it. We made lobster macaroni and cheese as our celebratory Valentine’s dinner, then watched a movie. For us, it was perfect.

Today we’re not leaving the house. We both have books we want to finish and some movies to watch and soup is going into the pot here soon for dinner. A perfect cold weather day.

Hope everyone’s staying warm this weekend.

P.S. – they’re calling for serious snow here this tomorrow night – please do a snow dance! I love the snow and we haven’t had much yet this winter. I can’t wait to take our kids in the snow – it’s a good excuse for grown ups to act like kids too. So if you have a snow dance, please do it!

IMG_3988

P.P.S. – today’s my grandfather’s birthday! My mom, my cousins, my aunts, and I hatched a plan to make sure he got as much recognition as possible – he got an ad in the paper and at last count he’s gotten 60 birthday cards!

IMG_3989

Leave a Reply

